Crosstown doughnuts (W1,SW8,E1,E14,W6,SE16)

Ok, it’s true I admit it. Since I’ve come back to London I may have been spending silly money on food. But come on (!) surely that’s not a crime given the circumstances. We’re stuck in a one bedroom flat, in the centre of London (Centre Point kind of central), under the greyest cloud, with nothing to do and nowhere to go. It’s pretty miserable and despite me pretending everything is fine, it’s actually not.

Ok, glad we got out the way, perhaps now we can all justify the £27.35 I spent on x6 doughnuts. I mean I don’t know how much doughnuts are meant to cost, I rarely eat them but surely £4.56 a pop for a piece of dough with sugar on it feels a tad expensive. Anyhow, it is what is, and the doughnuts were incredible.

And in all fairness, Crosstown Doughnuts are pretty delightful. Each of them is like a mini cake filled with all sorts of goodness and happiness. Also as someone who doesn’t eat much sugar, I can easily say It’s a proper treat. My favourites are the classic Tongan Vanilla Bean glazed and the Matcha Tea one but the Blackberry and Pear was surprisingly delicious (never had that before). Oh wait the PB and Jelly is insane too!!! Their “favourites box” contained all of the doughnuts I listed above + the coconut & lime as well as the chocolate truffle (so decadent).

We had these bad boys on Friday post-yoga (yes I know probably defeats the point of the hour long struggle but hey it’s also meant to be all about balance). We also had them on Saturday morning for brekkie and then Robin finished off the leftovers with afternoon tea. SO much sugar!!! You can only imagine how hyper we were following that mad consumption – in fact we ended up walking for hours to calm down.

These lovely delights were paired with one of my favourite Ethiopian coffees from the Kxoffee Project, this awesome specialty coffee place in Cyprus.

Alright, back to Crosstown doughnuts; I really like their product but also their brand – it feels premium to say the least and the good thing is that it delivers against it. Ok they’re a bit hipster-ish too, and we all know I have a soft spot for those kind of vibes.
Product-wise, they offer a wide range of options in their menu, tailored to all tastes and needs. In fact its vegan section is pretty damn good. Not a vegan myself but would easily switch if I could feed myself with doughnuts alone!

If you haven’t, it’s definitely worth checking them out (and the good thing is you can get them delivered to your place) – I hear they’re also putting a valentine’s special box (coupled or not, i’d so jump on that).

NB: Covid has caused a few of their shops to temporarily shut but I’m sure deliveroo can solve that kerfuffle.

Leave a comment