We do brunch @home ft. Friends of Ours

2020, the year that everything went upside down. I was lucky enough to spend a lot of the lockdowns back home in Cyprus, where despite the misery of isolation, at least I had loved ones around to endure it with.

Unfortunately, good things do come to an end and I’m now back in London ready to deal with 2021 and yet another round of Lockdown and uncertainty. However, this is not a gloomy reflection and in fact, oddly enough, I’m quite excited to be back home. Back to my own space and old habits.

Speaking of habits, let’s talk about brunch. Yes, there’s a pandemic. Yes, everything is shut. Yes, you can probably only get your brunch fix through some sort of deliver-oo service but who are we kidding? who wants to eat cold poached eggs?!

Friends of ours, one of my favourite London brunch spots, is actually doing something quite smart. They will send you the super fresh ingredients for you to piece the whole thing together. There and then, in the comfort of your own kitchen, you can get creative and indulge in a warm breakfast dish.

On my list for this weekend;

6 Cacklebean Eggs – £3.00

12 Slices of (insanely good quality) Streaky Bacon – £4.50

Avocado – £2.00

Nordic Salted Butter Roll 250g – £3.50

A Kxoffee Project Coffee (brought with me from Cyprus)

Total – £13.00 (+the coffee)

Probably more pricey than my local Sainsbury’s or even Waitrose but the ingredients where just so much better and it really did make a difference. The result was, needless to say, incredible and I’ve got Robin to thank for that too.

I’ve said it many times, but to me brunching is more than just a meal, it is a ritual. Particularly in this time of deprivation, isolation and lack of social contact, it is the small rituals that keep us going.

And whilst we’re at it, please let’s not forget to support the small and local brunching businesses. I’ll continue to report back to you and give these guys a platform so collectively we can help them survive the storm too.

If you have any recommendations for other places to try (warm or cold, ready made or just ingredients) ping them over and I’ll give them a go.

In the meantime, watch this space for brunch ideas, recipes and all sorts of things to keep you motivated.

Hold on, we’re almost there…

Leave a comment